Recipes

Strawberry Blueberry dump cake

This recipe is for the laziest of the lazy. So easy that even *I* could have made this back in the day. I used to not be able to cook or bake. ANYTHING. NOTHING. My cakes turned out like bricks and my cookies were like pancakes. It was bad but I think I *probably* could have made this without starting a fire or poisoning anyone! 5 minutes of prep, 50 minutes of baking and BOOM a delicious no-fail no-effort dessert!

You will need

  • 1 box cake mix
  • 2 bags frozen berries (I used strawberries and blueberries)
  • 1 stick butter (salted or unsalted, it’s all delicious)
  • Toppings! Oats, walnuts, pecans, chocolate chips! Whatever tickles your  fancy. I used a handful of oats and a sprinkle of white chocolate chips
  • Ice cream and/or whipped cream for topping

Preheat oven to 350F. Put stick of butter in a saucepan and melt over medium heat. While butter is melting spray a 13×9 inch baking dish with cooking spray (or use butter. Again it’s all about what YOU like.)  Pour the bags of strawberries and blueberries into the bottom of the dish. Sprinkle the box of cake mix over the berries. Check on butter to make sure it is just melting, not burning. Give it a stir for good measure. Back to assembly! Drop your toppings on top of the cake mix. I sprinkled on a handful of old fashioned oats and a handful of white chocolate chips. Put the dish (uncovered) into the oven and bake for 50 minutes. Remember to set the timer! When it’s done allow it to sit for 5 minutes to finish setting up. If you have the ability to eat dairy, I highly suggest topping it with ice cream or whipped cream. That would be the icing on the cake! (Hehehe see what I did there?)


Pretty and tasty! Enjoy 💜

*sidenote- I used strawberry cake mix. It was delicious BUT the little red pieces of ‘strawberry’ in it didn’t dissolve or soften. It ended up being a strange texture so I will stick with yellow cake next time!

Leave a Reply

